IGNORED

The minimum DSD DAC

I am new to Computer Audio and after a year's lurking I have a real question for you all.

I have had a transformational experience with The PS Audio Perfect Wave DSD DAC. PCM converted to DSD is for the first time in my experience making CD and other PCM listenable without Major Fatigue, or tricks for smoothing out the edge from PCM decoding (tube buffers and lossy cables). As far as I am concerned, PCM DACs are dead and can't do the job properly below 6 grand. However, there is much waste going on in the PS Audio PW DSD and other DSD DACs.

First, there is no need for the device to do the conversion to DSD. Your PC can do it more cheaply and even in real time. Second, there is no need for any SPDIF or other PCM facilities, not their chips, not their drain on the PS and not their digital noise. Finally, there is no need for a real output stage. Most users will still be using a preamp, so if the filter stage can output 0.5V or even a bit less than that, then a decent preamp will be a perfectly fine to substitute for the output stage. The choice of filters is another waste as you are seeking to keep the circuit as simple as possible. Finally, for me at least a balanced XLR connection is a waste of PS juice and added op amps since none of my equipment is fully balanced internally and I don't need to drive long cables. I don't need a headphone out and its necessary circuits and volume control. Besides this, I would prefer a native DSD input to avoid an added processing step having to be done in real time.

So I am looking for a USB only DAC that only does DSD, and only has RCA outputs. I would find the AES EBU, SPDIF inputs, balanced outs, filter selection, headphones and volume control, and I2S to be at least small negatives though the SPDIF would be a convenience it would not score any points in my grading.