IGNORED

Recording Software for LP to MacBook Pro

CraigN

I plan to record some of my LP collection from Simaudio phono preamp to Benchmark ADC to MacBook Pro using Apple Lossless. Does anyone have suggestions for the best software to use for recording and for minimizing LP surface noise on digital copies? Thanks.

Hi Craig - Sonic Studio is working on some really neat stuff in this area. I'm not sure if it's totally ready yet, but I know they were automating the process as much as possible.

I know of a few others but I have no direct experience with them so I can't really recommend them. I don't want to lead you down the wrong path. I'm sure others will jump in here with some good stuff.

Founder of Audiophile Style | My Audio Systems AudiophileStyleStickerWhite2.0.png AudiophileStyleStickerWhite7.1.4.png

Hello,

I tried a number of alternatives, Bias LE (down samples files from 24/96 to 16/44 when you import to iTunes), plus it has bugs when recording LP's, which may or may not be resolved with the full version (good money after bad?).

I settled on Sound Studio, it's simple to use, isn't flakey and it's inexpensive. Plus it offers a fully working trial version unlike the others.

I started out recording using Peak LE, and went on to buy the full version largely because of its excellent performance on sample rate conversion (I record at 24/192 for archive, and produce down-sampled versions at 24/96 and 16/44.1).

I looked at various pieces of software that have scratch removal / repair capability (including Pure Vinyl) but found there were many occasions when my clicks defeated the software, so now I use the waveform edit facility in Peak Pro which can cope with anything. OK it is time consuming but the results are worth the effort.

David

ALAC iTunes library on Synology DS412+ running MinimServer with Samsung Galaxy Tab S2 tablet running BubbleUPnP for control >