IGNORED

Does a CPU fan add electronic noise, and how much?

Does having a CPU fan add electronic/EM noise in an audio/HTPC application? I am a very experienced PC builder looking to dedicate a PC I already own, but is too high powered (THD ~ 125W) to use in a fanless case.

If EM noise is being added by a fan in proximity to the CPU --Other options to distance the fan? What about 'silent-fan' water-cooling with the pump and radiator outside the case? Or, a ducted air-cooled solution, such as a silent fan blowing across the CPU cooler through a plastic pipe, etc.

So, how far would a fan need to be distanced from the CPU to eliminate EM fan noise?

NOTE: I am not currently interested in a low THD solution, because I need the horsepower for HD video streaming. (yep) I know that I can buy a Haswell i7 that can handle this job, but I don't want to go that route because it means an entirely new system.

If you're serious enough to be worrying about this, you are serious enough to dedicate another machine completely to music playback. Doesnt have to be an expensive machine, but I just cant see how you can talk HD video and contemplate messing with your CPU fan - for the effort you would need to put into this I really think you are better off looking at an Atom-based CAPS machine or similar.

Just one more headphone and I know I can kick this nasty little habit !

Oh yes.

Fan is pumping power from mother board.

Sonic improvement is close to the improvement of a good power supply.

CloneAudio LPSU for QnapHS-251 fanless - UpTone JS2 for MacMini i7 (SD card only-CAD scripts-MMK fan kit-no disc inside- Audirvana2)- JS2 for REGEN - BelCantoRefLink-TotalDacD1tube(Mullard ECC82 NOS) //Halgorythme single end 300b EML //DiY Open Baffle & Leedh Elfe

Whee was the last time you did something for the first time?