IGNORED

How do you store DFF ( untagged ) files?

rodrigaj

DSD comes in dff and dsf formats. Like wav, dff does not support metadata.

Therefore, as I download the great tape transfers from
High Definition Tape Transfers
, I end up with one massive folder of individual tracks that is totally untagged, no composer, no cover art, no artist, etc… impossible to deal with using my Synology NAS (Minim Server) > Rendu renderer > W4S DAC > Android controller running Bubble Upnp.

I tried transcoding to DSF using JRiver but I got ticks and a compromised sound stage. They do offer other formats, but DSD is the best IMHO. If I have a choice I buy DSD.

Any suggestions? How do you deal with untagged files? If you have a system I would like to hear about it. I am new to all of this, so if this is a glaringly easy problem be kind.

Of course, the real issue is why High Def Tape Transfers doesn’t offer DSF and I can’t answer that.

"The function of music is to release us from the tyranny of conscious thought", Sir Thomas Beecham. 

J.River library does support tagging in its database even know that the files themselves does not support tagging. That is true as long the DFF file stays within J.River.

Do you want to try that again in English? :)

"Relax, it's only hi-fi. There's never been a hi-fi emergency." - Roy Hall

"Not everything that can be counted counts, and not everything that counts can be counted." - William Bruce Cameron

john57-

Thanks, but I am not using Jriver in front of my music system, I am using BubbleUpnp. I would have to buy an iPad and use Jriver's controller for your solution to work or run into the computer room whenever I wanted to change playlist. Perhaps I'm missing something in your suggestion.

"The function of music is to release us from the tyranny of conscious thought", Sir Thomas Beecham.