IGNORED

Passive Volume Controll for BADA?

Try Music First's Passive Preamp

www.mfaudio.co.uk

Eloise

---

...in my opinion / experience...

While I agree "Everything may matter" working out what actually affects the sound is a trickier thing.

And I agree "Trust your ears" but equally don't allow them to fool you - trust them with a bit of skepticism.

keep your mind open... But mind your brain doesn't fall out.

I have had no experience with the Alpha DAC.

I use my DIY passive amp with Stevens & Billington TX-102. The sound is as good as my other preamp. I find the sound of the volume control on Amarra (digital) as good also. But this is a demo one, hence has its listening limitations.

There has been some comments from various industry luminaries on the digital volume control- in a positive way. One was Weiss on this CA forum and elsewhere. Please see:

http://www.computeraudiophile.com/content/Weiss-DAC2-Volume-control-how-good-it

Qnap NAS (LPS) >UA ETHER REGEN (BG7TBL Master Clock) > Grimm MU1 > Mola Mola Tambaqui /Meridian 808.3> Wavac EC300B >Tannoy Canterbury SE

HP Rig ++ >Woo WES/ > Stax SR-009, Audeze LCD2

In fact one of the topics at the Computer Audiophile Symposium was digital volume control. I knew many readers were skeptical about it and also wanted to know more, as did I.

When digital volume control is done "right" it's a fabulous thing. Also, don't forget analog volume controls have their own host of problems.

Founder of Audiophile Style | My Audio Systems AudiophileStyleStickerWhite2.0.png AudiophileStyleStickerWhite7.1.4.png

Hi!

I´m using a (cheapish) TC LevelPilot between my source and the powered speakers.

This was thought out as an interims solution at the lowest price and acceptable look and quality, and had turn out to be quite satisfying for me (and my needs).

I`m planning to get a better solution as I will have changed my system to "computer playback" and a new DAC.

What is very important is: