IGNORED

FINALLY Made up my mind, making a purchase tomorrow...not popular choice here though...

I am relatively new to the "computer audio concept".

I joined this board just 6 short months ago at which time i bought a used dragonfly on ebay.

I was quite pleased and thought i could live with that for a long time...

As i started reading the forums and started poking around a little more, I read some pretty amazing articles about DSD.

I downloaded audiogate software and started to up-convert. I didn't have DSD dac so i really don't know what it was doing, but to me the difference was amazing. I could hear so much more what i will call "fullness", just much more presence...not being an audiophile, i don't know what I was actually hearing, but it was very notable.

I already previously purchased jriver, but it still sounded better through audiogate...might be a setting, but i was telling both to maximize the sample rate as high as possible and the audiogate sounded better.

I bought a SONY DSD DAC, and I am not even sure it sounded better...just different. So i sold the dragonfly, sent the sony back, and decided I was going to wait until KORG came out with their DSD DAC (it wasn't out yet at that time), but i was so in love with the sound that came out via the audiogate software, that I decided that would be my solution, and I was willing to wait.

In the mean time, i started playing with HDMI, even though it was dissed by the masses as being inferior. To me, it sounded pretty darn good, although perhaps not as good as when i was playing DLNA through my sony blu-ray analog out to marantz reciever.

Anyway, i think sony does DSD right, and I am going to try hooking PC hdmi out directly to a new

Sony STR-DN1050