IGNORED

computer audio newbie...

hello everyone

my name is Nuno, i'm a 49 year old artist from Portugal, registered today & before posting, went around to make sure a similar post hadn't been written - didn't find any so here goes

for a while i flirted with/read about & recently decided to step into the world of computer audio. my system's basic : 2 X 1TB W.Digital My Book drives ( plus a 2TB unit coming ..) through a Logitech Premium powered USB hub --> 20'' Intel iMac --> Behringer UCA202 USB sound card --> Onkyo Integra A-8067 amp --> B&W 603 S2 bi-wired/Supra 4mm cables. the iMac, W.D. & Behringer are connected to an APC UPS, cables kept to their min. possible lengths, power cords along one side , signal & USB ones on the other - i don't know if it makes a difference but...anything to avoid crossing the Audio Gods !...LOL...

all my music's in AIFF, WAV formats except for a few 320MP3 downloads. on playback, audio & video are handled with no quirks/stops & between hiting play & sound/video starting it takes a few seconds. unplugged back up drives are ''stashed'' away just in case...

it sound's surprisingly good to my ears - way better than when i first used the iMac's headphone out... - & good enough for me to get rid of a Pioneer PD-8800 CD player, a Pioneer PDR-609 CD recorder, a Toshiba DVD player + my Thorens TD 316 MKIII & Sony 3 head K7 player plus a ton - LITERALLY... - of CD's, LP's, K7's & the cabinet i kept them in, a 1000 remotes....you see, my house was built small on purpose & i find it most pleasant to have gained my living room back ! :-) basically i'm happy ! but....