IGNORED

SSD not really faster

Just installed a 64gb SSD OZC (SLC) in my 2009 Mac Mini 2.0Ghz, 1Gb ram. Startup time is approx 50s. Not really the speed demon I was expecting. OSX 10.5.7.

I guess more ram would be faster, right?

Sure is silent. Music is all on external OWC FW 500gb 2.5".

Chris,

This was my source, I read it quickly, as I'm considering an SSD but it sounds like the issue is now resolved.

http://forums.appleinsider.com/showthread.php?t=99639

Not having X-ray vision to see beyond the reality-distortion field that surrounds all things Apple, I don't put a lot of faith in how Apple explains unexpected 'issues'.

Seems to me that it would be better to say that it was unintentional, than intentional, so if they ARE saying it's the latter, I guess I'd believe them, my above comment notwithstanding.

YMMV,

Clay

PS, I believe the Samsung SSDs should saturate the 1.5G limit of SATA I, but I'm brand new to SSD speak, only starting investigating it a couple of days ago.

Coot,

I have NO experience with a Mini, I use Macbooks. Certainly if I had a computer with only 500Mb of RAM, I would increase it, probably to the maximum. Although more RAM is NOT required for iTunes playback - 512Mg is the MINIMUM for iTunes 8.2 - there have been reports that increased memory improves sound quality in high resolution systems. IOW, more RAM wouldn't hurt, for sure.

As for decreasing startup time, I have no idea, as I basically NEVER turn off either of my computers, and these are laptops.

best of luck, perhaps someone else will answer now that it's been bumped back up to the top.

clay

I assume you mean you had a 500GB hard disk internal previously? No MacMini from 2009 will have come with only 512MB of memory.

The amount of memory will NOT improve boot times, however there is an argument that increasing memory to 4GB will reduce the amount of Virtual Memory that is used by your system and MAY improve the sound quality.

Eloise

Eloise

---