IGNORED

Build or Buy?

I am currently using a Toshiba laptop running JRiver hooked up to a Peachtree Nova Pre with an Audioquest USB cable. The laptop is accessing my music library wirelessly from a WD MyCloud 2TB on my network.

I would like to build or buy something that I can leave hooked up to my 2 channel stereo system using the USB input of the Nova Pre. This would be for MUSIC ONLY. No monitor when everything is set up. The JRiver ID looks interesting, but if I can build something better for less money, that would be perfect.

I am new to this, so any help (or links to help) would be apreciated.

If you are comfortable with building a PC you can put together a "CAPS style" server for about half of what it costs to purchase one made. Be sure to add in the cost of the OS when figuring out the expense.

CAPS + Windows Server 2012 + Audiophile Optimizer will give you a true high-end front end...

"Don't Believe Everything You Think"

System

You can also easily build a "JRiver Id" from the motherboard and a fanless case for the same price which is a good solution. In that case you can customize how much ram, sdd, etc. to put in it. I bought a NUC and Akasa case for it and it has been a great server.

You can also easily build a "JRiver Id" from the motherboard and a fanless case for the same price which is a good solution. In that case you can customize how much ram, sdd, etc. to put in it. I bought a NUC and Akasa case for it and it has been a great server.

Can I do it for less than $295? That is what the introductory price of the JRiver ID is right now.

The NUC kit that is used for the id without any ram, SSD or software is running about $140. So depends on whether you can provision it with those for less. The difference if you go with the kit is that you can get the motherboard only and get a fanless case which the id does not have and also can specify ram and SSD accordingly. So think about it as a tuned or custom NUC versus an off the shelf one.