IGNORED

How do you set up a Mac Mini

I am new to computer music and would like to set up a Mac Mini as a music server. I tried to search this site for the info and I couldn't find an easy explanation or it was over my head. At this point I don't even use ITunes. I want something simple but with a high quality sound. I do have a very good CDP, TT, amps, preamp and speakers. I would run an upgraded USB cord from the Mac Mini to my Esoteric K-3 DAC input and am fine from that point. Would like audiophile software on the Mac Mini. Is JRiver for Mac the most foolproof software to use or is another product easier and more bug free. I do want to get the best sound that I can. If I load the audio software, will it change all the settings in the Mac Mini automatically or do I have to go in the menus to optimize the settings for the best sound quality. Does anyone know what these settings should be? Can I control the Mac Mini from a Mac Air instead of a IPhone or IPad?

Sorry if these questions have already been answered here, If so please point me to the correct post. Thanks for your help.

Paul

Welcome to CA. Lots of information on setting up a Mac Mini as a music server.

Here are a few of the more common tweaks and programs. I won't comment on how effective any of these are because there is almost always discussions here on CA about how good or bad, etc. each tweak (program) is so please research each item and decide for yourself.

Music players: Audirava Plus (A+), Pure Music, Amarra, JRiver. I use A+ in the non-integrated mode (not connected to iTunes) where you drag music files or folder into the A+ window. There is an updated version of A+ in the works that operate more like iTunes with regards to the user interface.

RAM: you didn't indicate how much RAM your Mini has but usually 8Gb or more is recommended.

Solid State Drives (SSD): replace internal HDD with a SSD. I have 60Gb SSD that only contains OSX and applications, not music files.