IGNORED

Pink Floyd - The Division Bell 96/24

Here are some plots of the Pink Floyd - The Division Bell download from highresaudio.com. Overall, all the tracks are more or less similar, so the chosen 96k sampling rate seems to be suitable for this particular recording (bandwidth is limited elsewhere).

To my ears, this recording has a ringing/tizzy treble, kind of painful character. What do others think?

Technically this recording will work fine also with DSD64 upsampling.

pf-02.jpg

pf-04.jpg

pf-07.jpg

Signalyst - Developer of HQPlayer

Pulse & Fidelity - Software Defined Amplifiers

To my ears, this recording has a ringing/tizzy treble, kind of painful character. What do others think?

I'm glad that it was not just me. As soon as I started playing it it felt that something was wrong. Very "trebly", to the extent that I have not been able to get through more than three tracks without switching back to my CD rip. Extremely disappointing.

I find this to be a very good transfer. A step up from the cd. The soundstage is very nice and the hires offers lots of ambient information which is not present on the cd. I had listened to the entire album twice before reading this thread and would never have used the words "ringy" or "tizzy" to describe the sound. Not at all in my system. I am using an NOS dac with tubes and Senn HD600 phones.

I must admit that I was disappointed as well. I have a copy of the original released CD and have always thought that to be pretty good but to my ears, the HiRes version is over strident, perhaps even aggressive in its presentation. That's not to say that it isn't a good transfer. It just doesn't suit my preference

Hi!

The bells have a ringing treble...

..kidding..

Can you point a specific passage or is the whole album.

I got the album and sounds very good, but it's late night and can't really push it...