IGNORED

Newbie question

Hi everyone. This is my first post...just registered today. I have a number of SACDs and plan to purchase more. My old Philips SACD player has died after a very long and happy life. I am an experienced PC/Windows/Linux pro and hobbyist PC builder. I would like to be able to send DSD content to an appropriate DAC. I know about several programs that can handle downloaded DSD files from a hard drive, but is there any software and user installable optical drive that can read and transport the DSD files directly from a SACD disc? (I have read about ripping SACDs with an older PS3 but that's not worth the multiple hassles to me...I'd rather just buy an OPPO for transport duties.)

The short answer is no. That's why everyone goes the PS3 route.

You can buy very expensive pro hardware (costs thousands).

There aren't other methods. SONY did a good job protecting those SACDs.

Hi everyone. This is my first post...just registered today. I have a number of SACDs and plan to purchase more. My old Philips SACD player has died after a very long and happy life. I am an experienced PC/Windows/Linux pro and hobbyist PC builder. I would like to be able to send DSD content to an appropriate DAC. I know about several programs that can handle downloaded DSD files from a hard drive, but is there any software and user installable optical drive that can read and transport the DSD files directly from a SACD disc? (I have read about ripping SACDs with an older PS3 but that's not worth the multiple hassles to me...I'd rather just buy an OPPO for transport duties.)

Main listening (small home office):

Main setup: Surge protector +>Isol-8 Mini sub Axis Power Strip/Isolation>QuietPC Low Noise Server>Roon (Audiolense DRC)>Stack Audio Link II>Kii Control>Kii Three (on their own electric circuit) >GIK Room Treatments.

Secondary Path: Server with Audiolense RC>RPi4 or analog>Cayin iDAC6 MKII (tube mode) (XLR)>Kii Three BXT