IGNORED

How to prepare for a music education major?

I'm a high school Freshman and I'm thinking about majoring in music with a focus on music education. I really want to be a high school band director and do marching band shows, etc. I am currently in the band at my high school, playing clarinet. I’ve been studying music theory on my own. I really want to do marching band, but under my current circumstances I won’t be able to. Will I be able to major in music education without doing marching band? Are there any other ways I can get a scholarship? What classes should I look into taking, in high school and in college? I'm really worried about the college music department audition to be accepted as a music major. Has anyone been through one of these auditions? Did you find them terribly hard? What should I know for the audition? Thanks for reading and any advice you have to offer!

smile.gif

I really have no idea... But I would say get involved in as much music activities out of school as you can. Find some local venues that do live music and ask if you can help out ... if only lifting boxes, etc. to start with. Getting as much exposure to different kinds of music as you can can never hurt.

Eloise

Eloise

---

...in my opinion / experience...

While I agree "Everything may matter" working out what actually affects the sound is a trickier thing.

And I agree "Trust your ears" but equally don't allow them to fool you - trust them with a bit of skepticism.

keep your mind open... But mind your brain doesn't fall out.

Be the best clarinetist you can be, then learn to play as many other instruments as you can - including keyboard. You will be teaching them all on some level.

Cultivate your people skills - How to win friends and influence people. Watch how your teachers handle discipline problems because you will have to when you are a teacher.

Good luck.

• 4 years later...

Oh, to go back and start over...