IGNORED

Invicta Vs Mirus

I am fairly new to digital audio and loving it. I have the Resonessence Concero HP feeding my Grado PS1000 headphones now and love it. I'm looking into a DAC for home stereo use and have narrowed it down to an Invicta Gen 1 or Mirus. I can get the Invicta Gen 1 (original) for considerably less than the Mirus and I've been told would give me a step up headphone amplifier (from Concero HP) as well. That said I'd appreciate opinions and your thoughts on the purchase decision as I don't plan on changing out this stuff once bought and I'm told I'd hear a significant difference in sound between the two in my system (Esoteric DV50s disc player, Mastersound Compact 845 amp, Siltech cables, B&W 803d speakers, high end line conditioner). If I go the Mirus route I could always buy a headphone amplifier later for home use with the Mirus (but again more money). I'm struggling with the benefits versus the price difference.

Welcome to CA! I've enjoyed learning from many of the posters here.

If you really don't plan on upgrading frequently (I'm with you!) the technology has been moving pretty fast (your Concero would have been close to top of the heap 5years ago) and I'm tempted to recommend the Mirus. But it also depends on how old the Invicta is, as there were at least a few updates made to those. I think the main difference between the later Invicta and the Mirus is removal of the HP amp to put a second 9018 chip (and support circuits) in. This is not that huge a change, basically it should mean an additional 3db s/n.

if your dealer would lend you both to listen to that would be ideal-- you could decide with much more comfort just how much better the newer DAC is in your system.

[...] I'm struggling with the benefits versus the price difference.

Welcome on board!