IGNORED

What do you think about Bose Quietcomfort 15?

Hi,

i'm new in the world of audiophile. Recently i tried the Bose QC 15 and I have noticed the enormouse difference with my 20€ in-ear headphones, so I wanted to buy them, but first i thinked to hear more opinions.

Do you have any suggestion for me?

PS: I primarily want to hear flac audio 96khz/24 bit.

Thanks in advance.

I'm not an audiophile ... just a dabbler. I think you will find most in this community don't think much of any Bose products. There are several makers of excellent headphones in the QC-15 price range ($300 US) with what is viewed as significantly better audio quality. That said, I have a set of QC-15s which I bough for relief from the acoustic stress of air travel. The noise canceling functionality of the Bose in an aircraft environment is EXCELLENT and makes all the difference in the world on long flights. I'll let others comment on their audio quality.

-----

i7 Mac Mini > USB > iDSD Nano > Audioengine A5+

Noise-cancelling headphones might not be an audiophile-approved product, but as Cal says, make a huge difference for air travel. I have a friend who wears them over Apple's in-ear $70 headphones for the best of both worlds.

You will need something other than an iPod for 24/96 flac playback.

People are suspicious of Bose because of their heavy use of psycho-accoustic DSP and that you pay for all the hype.

For travel, especially in airplanes, they are excellent. You can actually enjoy inflight films.

For home listening, comfort is critical, and this is something you will have to try yourself. To me any Sennheiser is very comfy and Grados make grimace, but to others it might be the other way around.

I am a big fan of their sound too, from the $80 280 Pro to the HD800.

I would recommend going to a store to try a few. Pro Audio, DJ gear and hifi stores usually have a bunch to try.