IGNORED

Newbie software questions -- need help

I'm just getting started in computer-based audio. I have a Toshiba laptop with the hard drive partitioned off 1/2 for Vista and 1/2 for Linux. I would prefer to use Linux 100% if possible but the goal is optimal sound quality. The only reason I still have Vista on my hard drive is for Apple I-tunes. I have a couple of questions:

1. What is the best software to use and is it for Linux or Vista? Again, I simply want the best sound quality even if it means using Vista.

2. Should I buy an external hard drive for storage and, if so, what's a decent cheap one? I don't plan on having a gigantic music library.

3. Is there an online source for audiophile quality music where I can purchase by the song or album that I could subscribe to for a fee? As I understand it, the music you buy off I-tunes isn't high fidelity (or is it?)

4. Is there a way to get I-tunes or equivalent for Linux (other than using a Windows emulator inside Vista)? Looking on Apple's website, I-tunes appears only for Windows or Apple OS.

And anything else you can tell me to get started here. I guess it's time to take the plunge. Thanks much in advance.

1. "Best software" is difficult to define for may obvious reasons. But, for my money, MediaMonkey (Windows only) is certainly great software with a great user interface, a zillion addons, a rich forum (and a community who are very helpful) and lots of flexibilty that works with reliability and stability.

2)Depends on how much music you have and what format you use. External USB drives of 1 terrabyte are now about $120.00 or thereabouts. If you have a FRY's, they are typically the cheapest in an area.

3) Yes. One that comes to mind is HD tracks. There are others. Itunes tunes are mp3 and not considered high fidelity by many

4) I think you are correct. Songbird is a program that will run on all 3 OS's (or rather, there is a version for each OS) - you might want to check out.