IGNORED

Which Driver Takes Precedence

Hi all,

I'm new to the world of computer audiophilia. Due to a relocation I've had to reconsider how i play my music and have recently decided that this is the way to go. I'm in the process of archiving my CD and SACD collection to disc and have recently managed to score a W4S DAC 2 to feed my Aaron amp.

Im considering also the purchase of an SPDIF converter and am pretty much ready to pull the trigger on the YellowTec PUC 2 lite.

I am however a little confused as i note that it has a proprietary driver that auto installs which defaults the PUC 2 as the output on the computer. What then happens to the W4S output on my output settings ? do I simply set the W4S as the output or the PUC ?

Given that the DAC is the ultimate feed into the amp then i'm assuming that this is what i should be using but if I do am i losing anything via the PUC ?

Apologies for what could be a silly noob question but I am just trying to understand the flow logically.

Thanks in advance for any collective wisdom which may come this way

Hi InAus,

And welcome to CA :)

I previously was using a Bryston dac with a HiFace USB > SPDIF (then the dac) and the HiFace was identified as the target in the Device Manager (Windows by the way). Then I replaced the HiFace with an Audiophilleo (still USB > SPDIF) and the same happened.

So my conclusion at the time was that all that is connected at the other end of the USB cable is the component identified (but I could be wrong).

Regards,

Alain

Hi InAus,

And welcome to CA :)

I previously was using a Bryston dac with a HiFace USB > SPDIF (then the dac) and the HiFace was identified as the target in the Device Manager (Windows by the way). Then I replaced the HiFace with an Audiophilleo (still USB > SPDIF) and the same happened.

So my conclusion at the time was that all that is connected at the other end of the USB cable is the component identified (but I could be wrong).

Regards,

Hi Alain,