IGNORED

Advice on Set-Up for Recording LPs

Hi All,

I’m just getting started with recording my vinyl collection and want to see where the weak links in my recording chain might be. I’d greatly appreciate any suggestions on where to apply a little money

So here is what I have used to do some rips already. What I have done sounds OK and I have been happy with Peak so far (I just want to record and do a minimum of pop and scratch editing manually). While I’m interested in the technology and the differences, my main goal is to start ripping my collection of 300+ album in earnest and I don’t; want to spend the next 2 years trying to catch the next 1% increment of improvement if it means that I don’t get to listen o my music (I don’t have a good place for my turntable or to set up the speakers for decent sweet spot so it’s the iPod and the car for most of the listening right now).

At the same time I don’t want to be 50% through the albums and find that I should have done X, Y or Z. However, a lot of the music is punk and new wave singles from High School days; none of it very high quality to begin with (the rest is a wide mix with a lot of reggae and dub and some classic Jazz).

• Current IMac

• Rega Planner 25 w/Dynavetor 10x5

• Creek OBH-8SE MM Phone Pre-Amp (yes the gain is down a bit with the 10X5, but it is a high output MC and sounds great)

• Edirol UA-3d 24/48

• Peak LE 6.0 w/Sound Soap (not used much, I have taken out the big clicks manually)

I would be interested in recoding at 24/96 or more and I think that means I need another ADC. I have looked a bunch of places but everything seems complicated or has XLR or other inputs that don’t work with the plain old RCAs the come out of the Phono Amp. Is there a recommendation for a decent (like under $400) ADC that will work with my Phone Pre-Amp?