IGNORED

Misheard lyrics - can you give (funny!) examples

Hi All,

This has very little to do with audio, but maybe you are willing to help me out here...

I work as an English teacher for one of the many private schools here in Brazil. One of the things we have to do is create conversation-classes. These usually have some kind of exercise in them.

A couple of weeks ago I ran into a video on youtube with the most misheard lyrics. I thought of using that as the topic for what we call "Joy Conversation". The idea is to have students listen to short fragments with lyrics that can be (easily) misheard, play these a few times and let them write what they hear.

One example is Abba's "Dancing Queen". Many people seem to have heard:

See that girl (= OK)

Watch her scream (= Watch that scene)

Kicking the dancing Queen (= Digging the Dancing Queen)

Can you help me out by posting your own misheard lyrics, preferably popular music? The funnier, the better!

Thanks in advance & Kind regards,

Peter

PS:

The class will be named "Play That F***in' Music, White Boy' :)

“We are the Audiodrones. Lower your skepticism and surrender your wallets. We will add your cash and savings to our own. Your mindset will adapt to service us. Resistance is futile.” - (Quote from Star Trek: The Audiophile Generation)

Steve Miller "the Joker" Pompetus of love lyric is a classic. Heard as lots of things. Often puppeteers of love.

Steve Miller "Jet Airliner" is another one with a couple of oft mangled lyrics. Someone has a page on just Steve Miller

Misheard Song Lyrics Stories, Steve Miller Band

I have seen a youtube video at one point I can't find now with a dozen such examples.

And the Jimi Hendrix song oft heard Let me Kiss this guy when it was Let me Kiss the Sky. From the song "Purle Haze" of course.

It also inspired a website.

KissThisGuy.com - The Archive of Misheard Song Lyrics