IGNORED

I need help determining equipment

Alpha

I'm a student at Central Michigan University working on an independent study involving the collection and analysis of different signals. The study will involve collecting signals from known sources (piano keys, flutes, ect.) along with signals from snoring or sleep apnea patients. Using computer software, the signal will be transformed via the Fast Fourier Transformation to provide the fundamental frequencies of each patient or known source. Fractal analysis will later be used to quantify and compare the signals.

The goal of the experiment is to associate those fundamental frequencies or fractal number with a particular anatomy within the human respiratory system (for exmaple the larynx, pharynx, and uvula). This would allow easy determination of the source of the snore and leads into possible treatment.

So, I need help assembling equipment which I can use to accomplish this task.

I believe I need the following:

Microphone (capable of plugging into computer for instantaneous signal analysis but also recorder)

Recorder to record snores

Software capable of FFT (Fast Fourier Transformation)

I must be missing something else.

Could anyone recommend what would be suitable equipment for this experiment?

Budget is under $1500 please.

Thanks everyone!

• 2 weeks later...

This might not be the right site to ask this kind of question. The folks here are generally into *listening* to music, not recording it.

Sometimes it's like someone took a knife, baby
Edgy and dull and cut a six inch valley
Through the middle of my skull

Yeah, gearslutz is probably a good recommendation.

For no more than you are describing you can do it for less than $1500.

Audacity is free sound software that will do an FFT. If that really is what you are sure you will use for analysis.