IGNORED

Apple Thunderbolt better for audio, guaranteed.

I have tested Belkin Thunderbolt adapter with Weiss INT202 FW adapter and USB input of the Devialet amplifier and also direct connection, Thunderbolt brings EXTREME improvement in all areas of audio playback.

There is no turning back

Hello WeiseHeiliger,

That has been my experience too.

Enjoy the music,

Richard

Yes, USB or Firewire converter, have significantly better sound if they are to mains via Thunderbolt adapter.

OOOPs,

For clarity, I was referring to using Thunderbolt HDs instead of HDD via USB/Firewire connections. I have no experience with converters etc. I replaced all my quad OWC external HDDs connected to the mains via USB or Firewire (so as to avoid conflicts for my USB Dac) with Thunderbolt Drives. My experience has only been positive. The speed is also an advantage.

But I believe the point you are making is other. Sorry for creating any confusion.

Enjoy the music,

Richard

Please confirm that this is the Belkin product you are referring to: Thunderbolt

Please tell us what devices you are simultaneously attaching to the Thunderbolt hub. Are you attaching to it both your Firewire>S/PDIF converter (Weiss INT202) and a USB hard drive for music storage? What DAC is the Weiss INT202 then connected to?

And with the Devialet's USB input from your computer, are you using the Belkin hub at the same time as having the Weiss INT202 attached? Sounds like you have two DACs.

Lastly, are any of the devices taking power from the Belkin hub? I think the Weiss INT202 has its own separate PS, but if you are also attaching a hard drive, where are you powering it from.

Most importantly, what model of Mac are you using? (Internal chipsets and buses differ between some.)

Thanks and regards,

ALEX C.

Please confirm that this is the Belkin product you are referring to: Thunderbolt