IGNORED

Help with Distortion

I'm wondering if anyone has insight into the cause of distortion I get with my digital playback. This happens in a periodic but regular fashion say every 30 seconds or so and lasts around 5 seconds. I get a loud raspy distortion that builds to a crescendo and then stops only to recur again…almost like a record skipping but worse! I am a noob at this and maybe someone knows right away what is wrong.

I am running iTunes on a Mac Mini with and without Audirvana+. This goes via a Halide Designs USB bridge into an original EMMLabs DCC2 convertor via the S/PDIF coax input.

Thanks in advance.

Really hard to answer with that limited info.

Just shots in the dark.

Have you tried using the optical out of the Mini to feed the Toslink input on your DAC?

Have you tried some other playback software like Decibel or Bitperfect? I think the latter works with iTunes and former doesn't.

Can you borrow a different DAC and see if it happens with that?

If you listen over the Mini using headphones does it happen?

These steps might let you narrow down where the distortion is coming from.

And always keep in mind: Cognitive biases, like seeing optical illusions are a sign of a normally functioning brain. We all have them, it’s nothing to be ashamed about, but it is something that affects our objective evaluation of reality. 

Hi ESL,

No I didn't even realize the Mini had an optical out. I will give this a try.

The distortion comes whether I use iTunes "natively" or with Audirvana so I don't think the software is the problem.

I have briefly tried another DAC that was fed via USB (no bridge). There was no problem but didn't sound as good as old EMM.

The DCC2 works with no problem with it's CDSD transport.

My suspicion is that there is something wrong with the USB bridge or how I am using it.

Hi ESL,

No I didn't even realize the Mini had an optical out. I will give this a try.