IGNORED

MP3 vs. WAV

I've downloaded some tunes using "Rhapsody" (in MP3 format) and copied others from my CD's directly to my hard drive. My PC came with Nero 8. I I would like to burn a CD with WAV files but was told that converting the MP3's to WAV would degrade the sound quality? Do I need to find the songs somewhere online in WAV format or can Nero or perhaps another software product handle this?

Thanks,

Jack

converting mp3 to flac does not degrade the sound quality, although it wont get better either.. if you find the songs in wav or any lossless format that would give the best result. But if you feel fine with your mp3s just burn them with nero, it'll work fine.

Thanks for the prompt reply. Since I just downloaded it from Rhapsody, which I only signed up for a trial on yesterday, I have NO experience with the sound quality of their downloads? Any comments? Is there a better place to get songs in the "flac?" format?

Regards,

Jack

The mp3 is generally inferior in quality for serious listening on a hi-fi system. I personally like to own the best file possible. Then you can choose to convert files to lower quality depending on how you are going to use it. In the long run storage will become larger and cheaper and better files won't hurt. Ripping cds to wav is pretty good and easy for someone starting out. Hi-res downloads are great, but the selection is only now growing (still limited). When itunes goes drm free these should also be be cd quality and you should be able to play the files anywhere.

regards

vortecjr

he's asking two things:

1) Does FLAC reduce the quality of these lower quality-to-begin-with Rhapsody downloads?

2) is there anywhere to get better quality FLAC files (i.e full cd quality or better)

Answers: