IGNORED

Simple solution for a simple mind?

Hi everyone,

This is my first post here.

I am completely new to computer audio and have just got myself a Mac mini - Ipod touch (for remote purpose) - Dac.

I am still kind of in the process of setting this up, but I have a question.......

If I am using Apple lossless to play through my main system, and, I am using the touch as remote, synced to that Itunes library, can I store mp3's on the touch for use on the move away from home??? and if so, how do I transfer mp3 to it when all my music is stored in lossless format on the Mac???

I know this is very likely to be a stupid question, but please bare with me, I am a total novice.

Many thanks in advance.

T.

You can store mp3 or Apple lossless files on iTouch. You use Itunes to upload songs to the iTouch via USB, it's just a drag and drop system and is very fast with USB. A whole album takes just a few seconds.

Might be a bit confused here. Mp3 files can be converted to Apple Lossess, right click the song in iTunes and you're done. The Apple application Remote will play the itunes library, and the iTouch has a separate Ipod type function to play local files on the iTouch when you're away from home.

When you rip your CD's, itunes needs to know what format you want to store your songs as. Under edit preferences, General tab, import settings and set lossess. Add error correction and it's done.

When you do the conversion to Lossless, a 128k MP3 will sound not so great, even with lossless, it will retain the below par sound quality.

AS Profile Equipment List        Say NO to MQA

Thanks for the reply.

Yes, I think perhaps we're at cross purposes due to me not explaining it clearly.

What I am looking to do is to rip or store music on my mini/external drive in Apple lossless to play on my main system, using the Itouch as a remote to control it. I think I'm ok with that part and have set Itunes to import in Apple Lossless.

But......