IGNORED

Stello DAC100 Signature on XP SP3 iTunes & Foobar comparision

Hello to all, my first post to this very interesting site!

The site is a great resource for a new source for audio, and if it wasn't for Chris' straightforward outlook on an evolving topic, I would not be here. I studied many posts and equipment reviews and long and short of it decided there was something missing with the standard optical SPDIF output on my notebook. Lack of detail mainly, little in the way of dynamics, were the most annoying, so after reading the Stello 100 review here, OK, lets go get one!

I bought the signature version due to the balanced audio outputs for my amp to come, other than that, the DA100 would have been fine.

Immediately when the DA100 was on, the veil lifted, the detail I was expecting as back, firm bass extension, this was with iTunes. After much tripping over Foobar2000's name on the forums, I did a head to head comparison between the two using Apple lossless files in my collection V8.1. I ignored the library functions for now and concentrated on audio quality only. All enhancements were off.

Foobar2000 uses its own Apple lossless converter and differences I've noticed are:

a) The Foobar conversion sounds brighter rather than detailed.

b) Deep Bass on Foobar is lower amplitude and not as strong and defined as Tunes

The DAC100 doesn't support ASIO drivers, so I had to use kmixer's designs and follow Benchmark's guide to Windows XP audio and set QuickTime Audio from the same author.

With iTunes having a lot easier library management, iTunes won the day over with Audio Quality as well. I was hoping iTunes would win cause I like the remote capability on my iPhone 3G.

For those newbies like me, here's the list of settings for XP that are essential.

- Switch off Sounds in Control Panel

- Set the latency in QuickTime player to 1.000ms (lowest value) that I could be bothered with