IGNORED

Heads-up Mac versus PC

As noted in another thread I put my XP machine against a friend's Macbook Pro. My laptop is running iTunes7 as a front end, outputting through Foobar .9.6.4 with ASIO to bypass Windows' kernal via USB. My music files are WAV files from EAC. His Mac is using Play for playback with AIFF files converted from WAV files from EAC also. The audio system is a very high end ($70K) high resolution tube setup.

Let me start by saying that I am not an expert in digital audio reproduction and my XP system is the result of only a few days of tweaking. There are many other methods of playback that I haven't tried. Still, we were both optimistic that the XP machine would come very close if not match the Mac. During the test we tried three DACs, various USB cables (Kimber, Belkin, etc) and two ~$20K preamps.

We played the PC first and were fairly impressed once I remembered to lower the output buffer. This made a huge difference in reducing smear. For the most part it was natural and pleasing. Next was the Mac. The difference in staging and richness was noticeable, but not night and day. The biggest difference however was in the low-level details. It was as if the PC was missing data compared to the Mac. The background voices, instruments and noises were much more present and alive, with less sharp drop-offs.

On a Bose audio system it would make little difference but on a system of this quality it was significant, similar to the difference between a mid-range preamp and a top-end one. Because of this I will be experimenting further to improve the sound on this PC. If it isn't possible to match the quality of the Mac, I may just buy a Mini to use as an audio server and keep the PCs as my everyday tools.

Ah, nuts! sys64738

It's the ASIO and Foobar 0.9.X. I have yet to hear an ASIO I liked, and I have tried maybe 10 of them.