IGNORED

Mac Pro Configuration Options

I am new to CA, which has motivated me to move to stop spinning optical discs. Pardon me if this question has already been asked.

What configuration purchase options would forum members recommend for a Mac Pro quad core to be used as a server? As long as I get sufficient capacity, will the internal hard drive(s) suffice, or is there a special reason to use an external drive or NAS?

Hi dynamis - Welcome to Computer Audiophile. Any of the new Mac Pro computers will work great. Mine has quite a bit more memory because some of my files can be several GB in size and I need to play them in iTunes and would like the complete file to load into memory. Necessary no, desirable yes (by me).

One reason for a NAS is flexibility. You remove noise from you listening room as it can be placed anywhere on your network. Most NAS units can be upgraded very easily with larger drives if needed. The RAID set is just expanded when this is done. Internal drives may not be this easy. Plus a NAS is accessible by all computers on your network even when your Mac Pro is turned off. There are more reasons why I use a NAS but this is a good start.

Founder of Audiophile Style | My Audio Systems AudiophileStyleStickerWhite2.0.png AudiophileStyleStickerWhite7.1.4.png

It makes money for hard drive manufacturers.

Basically RAID is an enterprise-grade technology that is of little or no use for home users. There are several levels (RAID 0, RAID 1, RAID 0+1, RAID 5, etc.). It essentially does one or both of two things:

1) it provides faster read access by spreading the files you need across multiple drives, which can be accessed in parallel. It also may provide faster access when many people are trying to read the same data (think of a web server serving thousands, or the old days when travel agents were trying to access an airline's database).