IGNORED

Mac Pro Music Server on Windows WiFi?

I'm new to PC audio and have been voraciously consuming the information on this site for the last several days. Chris, kudos on a great and helpful website!!

My question revolves around fitting a music server into my existing network. I'm not a computer expert so please keep that in mind. We have Verizon Fios TV and internet which comes with a wireless network router. We only use the WiFi for web surfing via Dell laptop for convenience (e.g. while watching tv in the bedroom, etc). The desktop computer is also a Dell and is hooked up directly to the router via Ethernet cable. From this site, I've inferred that a Mac Pro with Lynx AES16e card using itunes would be the easiest setup for top quality sound?

Can I integrate a Mac into my Windows / Fios Wifi so that I can get high resolution downloads and album art, etc? If so, how? Would I be better off building a Windows server? I was shocked how expensive a basic Mac Pro is!! Wow! Can I still get top quality sound if I use iTunes with windows?

As you can see...I've got a great many questions before I feel comfortable moving forward. If the Mac w/Lynx would work easily, I'd get moving immediately, but equally important is that I know I can get the highest sound quality from the setup.

Thanks,

Jordan

P.S. My current system:

Zu Definitions

Atma-Sphere M60 MkIII amps

Rowland Capri Linestage

PS Audio DIII (w/Cullen mods).

Wadia iTransport

Considering the Berkeley Alpha DAC once I'm convinced I have a top quality server to feed it.

Synology NAS -> Quadcore i7, 3.8GHz -> RoonServer -> HQPlayer (all up sampled to DSD128) -> Sonore urendu (Uptone JS2 PS) -> Lampizator Golden Gate DAC -> Valvet A4 Monoblocks -> Zu Audio Definitions Mk4

Hi Germanboxers - Thanks for the kind words about Computer Audiophile.