IGNORED

Is 24;96 always better than 16;44?

I'm a newbie to this site and hope someone can help me understand what these sample rates really mean.

I've been reading posts here, but am still confused with the basics. I'm a Mac user, with all my music(mostly pop) ripped from CD to Apple Lossless in itunes. I use the ipod/itransport.

Questions:

1) Can I obtain sound off the CD's better than I have now encoded at 16;44?

2) If so, will I hear the difference?

3) If higher sample rates will sound better, do I have to re-rip all my CD's to achieve the improvement, or does the Max system convert my lossless files to something better?

4) Is 24;96 et al, mostly applicable for jazz/classical music?

Thanks

Barry K

Hi Barry,

Many parameters come into play, and it is quite hard to explain it in layman's words. But here is a first go :

First of all it is my opinion that 16/44.1 is good enough to squeeze out the best you ever heard. I mean : this is relative to what most perceive or can perceive, and it related to the playback means to start with.

Of course you know about $80 DVD players vs. 10K CDPlayers, and whether the price difference is justified or not, there is a difference, and it comes from somewhere. With playback software this is similar, but in order to avoid the ever recurring jitter (from software) debate, let's stick to the CDPlayers for better understanding (or no need to understand :-).

Now, once you'd have heard that, say, best from 44.1, you can already wonder whether you need better. But for arguments sake, let's say Yes.

Now it becomes a tad more difficult ...

The first thing you should know is that at 44.1 samplerate, a 20050 Hz tone is a pure square. This is because of it being "digital". This is not good. Ok, you could say "but I don't hear a 22050 tone anyway", but let's then go to half of it : 11025. This is not a pure quare, but a 2 stepped square. Thus, less of a square, but still very squarish.