IGNORED

JRiver tips and techniques: user experiences repository

ted_b

I thought it might be a good idea, for us JRIver  users, to have a go-to-place where we can show (or ask about) the tips, shortcuts and techniques used to get the most out of this hugely flexible and powerful tool. I'm a newbie, so if others have better tips I'm all ears (and eyes).

Tagging tips

Best practices for setting up views

Options setups for various DACS, etc

I'll start

The ability to create views, then use them in jremote, is a huge deal with me. Here is a small primer I've started.

I've circled, in red, anything appropriate

jriverview24edit.jpg

Create view

* First click on Audio tree, then go to view_>add view->add library view, and pick empty one

* give it a name (mine is "24 bit hirez")

* change "view as" to categories (so you can see album art)..it's a pull-down pick

* add sorted fields. the sort order is the view order (i.e mine shows artists, then you pick albums, then if albums are available in multiple sample rates, you pick them). Experiment.

* add any rules under "set rules for file display" (my only rule was bit depth. My DSD view differs simply in that my only rule was "file type is DSF", and I had no sample rate field).

* add "show alphabet" if you have large lists to browse

Done!

Then import to jremote: To make this view available to JRemote, you'll want to simply customize the WebGizmo views (Tools > Options > Media Network > Advanced > Customize views for Gizmo & WebGizmo...). You just add a new section under Audio, selecting this "Library Item from Standard View".

If you want the longer, more detailed version, this post over on the JRIver forum, is a great one

Customise Current View v17 Expounded

Some advanced (for me) bulk tagging techniques: