IGNORED

Help on choosing DAC

Hi all-- Great site!

I am a totally new on DIGITAL high end (computer driven). I tried this on the general forum with not much response so I'll try here. Sorry for all the questions!!!

I'm searching for an inexpensive DAC (I want to order one like today!) to go with the following system which is music only:

- Sony C333ES SACD player

- Krell KSL2 preamp

- Counterpoint SA20 hybrid tube/mosfet amp

- Von Schweikert VR4 speakers

- Vandersteen sub

- Decent interconnects, etc.

- I am a musician with good ears, and have completely schizophrenic tastes (classical to punk to rock to jazz)

- I have i-tunes on my desktop PC and an 80GB ipod (not the touch) with everything in Apple Lossless

- Just purchased a new Macbook 2.4GHz (NO FIREWIRE) which I will be using for everything including storage (for now). I can look into more storage, NAS later.

- From reading here, I THINK USB is the way to go vs optical digital out? Not sure on this either--need advice.

DAC budget is $500 MAX (prefer less--I will move it to another system and upgrade if needed as I get the hang of this new medium).

Do I need one capable of 24/96, and if so, any thoughts on which one?

A ripping question: If I dl a file from the site which shall remain nameless in mpg format and use Itunes to store is as apple lossless or AIFF, is that then the same quality file as a real lossless file as ripped from a CD? Not sure I get this...

Thanks in advance for your help!!

Ripping: you can never improve the quality that you start out with, so if the .mpg file is less than 16/44.1, then converting it to apple lossless won't make it cd quality.

24/96: You don't need a DAC that can do this yet because cd quality is still by far the most available even online; however, it is a good idea for future proofing.