IGNORED

High resolution Servers

sdman

What kind of equipment(server) do I need to process HRx,HDCD, anything with 96/24 and 192?

I listened to Reference Records HRx and HDtracks recordings and was amazed at what I heard. Also Lynnn Records had some good stuff.

I'm new at this and I am an old vinyl spinner and never thought

about digital until I heard the high definition recordings.

I tried at one time to listen to CD but after an hour or so I gave up and went back to listening to vinyl.

Look's like digital HD could be the future in music listening.

As I said I'm green at this but I'd like to get started building something soon. "I'm getting a fire in my belly".

Any advice/info would be appreciated.

thanks, Sam

Hi Sam - Welcome to Computer Audiophile. You've come to the right place for help in the music server and high resolution department. Do you have a preference for Windows or Mac OS X? Here is a link to some music servers I have here or have written about. http://www.computeraudiophile.com/taxonomy_menu/2/11

The expense rises when you want to playback the RR HRx material. Getting 24/176.4 or 192 out of a computer requires more than just the built-in interfaces. I use a Lynx Studio AES16 card. It will output full 24/192 bit perfect via AES/EBU to my DAC. There are firewire DACs as well like the Weiss Minerva. You just need a computer with a firewire port. The DAC connects right to it and your good.

I'm guessing we'll need to keep this discussion alive for a while as you admit to being pretty new with this stuff. No worries, it's laid back around here. Don't be afraid to ask whatever you need.

Founder of Audiophile Style | My Audio Systems AudiophileStyleStickerWhite2.0.png AudiophileStyleStickerWhite7.1.4.png

Thanks Chris,

My preference will be Windows XP Pro.

What's the limitation on an USB 2.0 port?

Will it at least handle 96/24?