IGNORED

Review of the Dac1 Pre?

I won one of these at CES and I am just simply amazed at the sound quality.

I am using a Claro Plus (based on a CMI8788) in a bit perfect config using Media Monkey and foobar2000.

I would love to see one of these reviewed and see how they compare to other DACs on the market.

Thanks all for a truly wonderful site, made of truly wonderful and passionate people!

I've had one for ~2 months now and am also extremely impressed and happy with the SQ. I'm only a newbie digital audiophile and no expert at reviewing stuff like this but have been a musician for nearly 30 yrs and know what I like. I've got it feeding a pair of Parasound JC-1 mono's and the low noise floor of the system is remarkable....with the vol turned way up high the system is dead quiet with no music playing and between tracks.

-Mark

• 2 weeks later...

I have now had mine for about 2 weeks and it just keeps getting more and more impressive. The sound quality is amazing. I finally got to hear an Alphadac and I brought my pre with me (it's so small it wasn't hard to do!) and with not knowing which was which the people in the room couldn't really tell one from the other in a blind A-B-A test!

The Alpha has a better display to be sure but sonically...well, WOW!

Actually we did a few different sources. I brought over my RR HRx disks, by friend had some iPOD files and I also brought a copy of the HDCD of Little Hatch's "Rock with me baby".

Since the Pre doesn't do internal HDCD decoding and the Alpha did we used Media player with the pre and used WMP with the tickbox for 24bit checked.

The HDCD was better on the alpha but not by much everything else was very much on par.

Chris I would very much value your opinion on this subject, btw what do you mean "You don't consider them competing products"?

Hi Honeybadger - Thanks for the info.