IGNORED

USB Question - Pro-Ject USB DAC

I just purchased and set-up a Pro-Ject USB Box. The input is connected to my computer USB port and the output is connected to a NHT Passive Vol Control. This in turn is connected to NHT-MOO monitors. When I purchased the Pro-Ject and NHT PVC my expectation was that my internal soundcard and computer software volume control would be bypassed. My understanding was that this results in greater resolution. However, my system volume control is still active.

I'm new to all this and am not sure if this is how it is supposed to work or not. The Pro-Ject didn't come with a manual. It did come with a set-up disc , but all it did was install Foobar 2000. Any advice would be appreciated.

I am using the same DAC on an Intel Aluminum Imac on Leopard and the volume control on my computer still works, so does the equalizer in iTunes. Using the USB on your computer bypasses the internal sound card and sends out a digital signal, unlike your sound card which sends out an analog signal out of your 1/8" jack. Just make sure all the settings in your media player are set to the maximum resolution and highest quality settings your DAC will handle, which is 16/44.1 for the Pro-Ject. Don't waste your money on 24/96 music downloads until you get a DAC that will take advantage of them. Hope this helps.

Rob