IGNORED

Newbie needs clarification on bitperfect setups

I am a newbie (running a WinXP Pro SP3 PC) on a budget. Over time I may invest in a DAC, a better receiver, amp, etc., but all in due time as finances permit. Anyway, I am pretty happy with my system but want to hook up the PC to serve music files. As I am on a budget I have a M-Audio Revolution 7.1 on it's way and am wondering the best configuration on how to set everything up. I don't mean to be redundant with other threads, but want to make sure I understand the bits and pieces of knowledge I have accumulated, and ensure I've strung them together correctly.

In order to play "bit perfect" from my PC I need BOTH the hardware AND the software to do it, right? It sounds as if the hardware needs to bypass windows' tinkering (Kmixer) and that would be done via the drivers. If the sound card's drivers do that then great. If not I would need ASIO4all or something similar. Is that right so far? The Revolution 7.1 card supports ASIO on it's analog outs, but not it's SPDIF out. Does that mean that if I use the analog outs, and possibly check a setting in the hardware manager dialog somewhere then I am good to go? If I use the SPDIF out instead then I need to also install ASIO4all?

Now, on the software end I am using foobar. Would I also need an ASIO plugin for foobar if I use the analog outs as described above? What if I use the SPDIF out?

Lastly, I will have to choose which output to use on my soundcard: the analog or SPDIF. The advantage to using the card's DAC as opposed to my receiver's is that the card supports 24-bit, 192 kHz and the receiver's is not that high. (It's a yamaha rx-v995). I've decided to see how each sounds when playing a file from a ripped redbook cd and go with the better sounding output. If the analog sounds better than great, I'll use that. If the SPDIF sounds better I'll use it, and if I start playing DVD-A files I'll have to upgrade to a separate DAC.