IGNORED

Computer Based Music Server

I recently came across this board and am very impressed with all the expertise. I am not technically advanced. I have a system that is mainly oriented to TV and DVD but would like to improve the music section by going to a computer based system to get rid of some 300 CD's now housed on a Sony CDP-CX350, On the audio side, I have a Denon AVR-4306 bi-amped to Paradigm Studio 20's and a OM-100 sub. The question is between a Mac system or one of the Vista based systems. I have read here about the Mac-mini and have done some research on Windows based systems the Windows based systems being sold all seem to be more AV oriented than music. I don't need all the video capabilities that are included in the Windows based systems (they're already in place) and I am very confortable with Mac having used them in the past. My questions are as follows:

1. Is an external DAC really needed to create a decent system? Will it improve the sound significantly over simply going direct from the computer to the Denon.

2. The AppleTV seems to be an alternative to use streaming the music wirelessly from a base computer or a NAS. I really like the interface from AppeTV as being able to visually see the collection, cover art, etc is important.

3. What other alternatives should I consider?

You can tell by the questions that I am a beginner as far a good quality audio is concerned. Any help would be appreciated.

Leighnjo

Hey Leighnjo welcome to Computer Audiophile!

Thanks for posting your questions. There are many people in your same situation. This thread should be very helpful for a lot of people. Don't worry about being a beginner. It will benefit everyone if you keep asking questions until you are satisfied with the answers you get.

1. Is an external DAC really needed to create a decent system? Will it improve the sound significantly over simply going direct from the computer to the Denon.