IGNORED

New Guy chewing through the gobs of information...

Hi everyone,

I am an audio lover looking for sweet music. (Wow, sounds like I am posting in a different forum!)

I am new to computer audio and working my through the myriad of information sources as I try to put together some nice audio from my new notebook. I am awaiting a pc, and my interests are in streaming untouched(or whatever comes closest) audio through USB DAC to powered monitors and sub.

I have researched DACS quite a bit, and am also trying to get a handle on Foobar, Asio, etc. I don't know if I made my first bonehead move, but I ordered a Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 USB DAC, http://focusrite.com/products/audio_interfaces/scarlett_2i2/

I have been looking for a DAC that is USB powered and that had balanced outputs as well as a headphone amp for portable use. I think I may find the headphone end of things lacking, but the desktop functionality seems like it would be there.

-2 in / 2 out USB audio interface

-96 KHz, 24-bit conversion

-2 balanced monitor outputs – ¼” TRS Jack

-USB 2.0 Port

OK, on to a question. Here is one area I am shaky about. I need a player that will stream (kernel?) bit-perfect audio using an audio communication system (Asio?) to my 2i2, and on to my speakers. My understanding is that the Scarlett drivers will already have Asio, so I won't need to use asio4all.

Wow, looking at this all I can say is, "That's quite a first post, son"

Anyway, thanks for any insight.

Todd

I think your post was maybe a bit open ended.

Foobar is a good playback software for Windows. It is perhaps best using WASAPI to interface with your DAC via USB. This should get you bit for bit correct, unaltered, output of your music files. You will be able to do this easily in Win 7. There are of course more elaborate music players like J River. I would try Foobar at first though as it works well and is free.