IGNORED

Powering my Senn HD600s

Hey guys and gals. I recently acquired a pair of Sennheiser HD600s (passed on by a family member) and have been running them straight out of my sound card on my computer. Sounded great, but not up to the potential of the headphones. Also recently, I was able to get my hands on a Bryston B60 Integrated Amp for free (all the outputs except for the headphone out (which is freakishly convenient) were dead, and it was on it's way to the trash) So I am currently running my audio from my X-Fi Titanium HD soundcard to the amp, then out to my HD600s.

I've heard several people say that I should invest in a DAC as well to power the headphones, but I'm not sure it's needed at this point.

Any input on how to make my headphones sound their best, or is what I have sufficient already? I'm pretty new to all of this so any input would be great! I listen to a variety of everything (Mostly Rock and Blues though) if that helps at all :)

Thanks for the help :D

• 2 weeks later...
  • 2 weeks later...

I have a pair of Senn HD600s.

I like them a lot, however my experience is that they benefit much more from dedicated amplification than my other phones (B&W P5 and Grado SR125).

Subjectively I would say that the treble becomes a bit grind-y sounding. I'm not familiar with your amp, so I have no idea how the hp out compares with a dedicated hp amp, but it seems likely that it will be better powered (therefore better sound from power-hungry phones like Sennheisers) than the direct hp out from the computer.

Stating the obvious here: You should be able to compare the two fairly easily. Make sure you have some lossless files, as opposed to compressed mp3 or aac versions, and give each output option a fair crack before coming to any conclusions.