IGNORED

Re: Computer Audio - can i 'split' a laptop?

I have been using the Sqeezebox Touch for about 12 months now,digital out to my Wadia 861 replaying hi-rez files on 32gb USB sticks and am very happy with the sound quality considering the low price of the Touch in relation to the cost of hi-fi components in general. I realise that computer audio is the future and after reading the guide from dCS have decided to extract as much as i can, sound quality wise, from my music collection by using a laptop dedicated to audio. When my son found out i was thinking of buying another laptop for this purpose he thought it a waste of money saying i could 'split' my present machine - by which meaning keeping the Windows 7 with all it's everyday applications and adding a barebones Windows XP for audio only with J Rivers 17 media centre and any thing else required for play back. Apparently, selecting XP on switch-on and letting Windows 7 hibernate will keep all deleterous garbage on that OS out of harms way - is this possible? has anyone here done the same?

At the moment my digital music is stored on the laptop and backed up on a Lacie 1TB hard drive. I assume i would use this hard drive connected to the laptop in future for play back as i understand the J Rivers moves the music you wish to listen to to RAM - does this seem feasible?

I have ordered a Musical Fidelity V-link 2 to use between the computer and DAC for the meantime until i can decide on a USB asynchronous DAC that will offer an improvement on the Wadia 861 (probably a hard act to follow). When the V-Link is delivered i will then be pestering my son to assist on the computer side of things as i'm not that much of a techie.

Any guidance would be greatly appreciated.

Terry

this is going to sound a little facetious - it is not intended to be.

Put this search term - dual boot windows 7 and xp - into the search engine of your choice. Read a few of the returned entries and then go and get another laptop! ;)