IGNORED

Power or Jitter?

I'm relatively new to CA, and have recently put together a set up, which comprises a Synology 411j NAS, a Macbook Pro (running Itunes)from which I wirelessly (is that even a word) stream to an Airport Express (802.11n). From the AE I have a glass toslink into a Rega DAC -> Rega Brio-R -> KEF q300's. (Showing my native English roots).

So my question is what should I look at next to improve my system. I've read quite a few articles about the level of jitter from the AE, so should I think about plugging my MBP directly into my Rega? But then I read that the USB ain't great (although all my files are Apple Lossless 16/44.1), so should I invest in a USB to SPDIF and something like Pure Music or...

the other things I read are that the stock power cables for the Rega equipment aren't great, especially with the DAC, and so should I invest in a power conditioner with decent cables such as the Pangea AC-9.

So I'm curious as to what people would suggest, given that I could more than likely only do one of the options for now.

Thanks for reading

Mike

[br]QNAP+ -> Allo DigiOne Signature -> RequisiteAudio D3rs ->  McIntosh C52 -> McIntosh MC-275 MK VI -> Harbeth 30.1's via Roon

Tough call on Pure music vs USB/SPDIF converter. I think I lean toward an SPDIF converter. Then other changes you make will be more apparent. Likely will want Pure music later. An interim solution is Bit Perfect which is just a few dollars. That and a converter will gain you more than just Pure music for about the same money.

Power cords are minor tweaking at best. Would be my last choice.

And always keep in mind: Cognitive biases, like seeing optical illusions are a sign of a normally functioning brain. We all have them, it’s nothing to be ashamed about, but it is something that affects our objective evaluation of reality.